What sharpening system should I buy to get into sharpening

Hello all, throughout the last year or so I have built up a collection of upwards of a dozen knives which are all carried and used. Obviously with daily carry they start to become dull, and I am quite uninterested in sending my knives back for a "spa service" constantly that leads me to be knifeless for over a month at a time. I am looking to get into sharpening my own knives (something I have no experience with), and I do not know what sharpening system I should buy. What's the difference between me spending $300 on a work sharp precision adjust versus upwards of $1,000 on a wicked edge. I would have to assume the main difference in price is the number of sharpening stones that come with each brands system, but I do not know what grit stones I would need. I am sure, like anything else, there are the basics to sharpening and the complicated parts to sharpening but I want to buy something that will allow me to learn and progress when sharpening my knives, for an example I would like to put a basic edge on some of my cheaper knives I consider work knives but I am also very interested in learning how to put mirror edges on my more expensive/fancy knives. Any input from the sharpening pros out there would be very much appreciated! thanks blade forums.