What steels to avoid with a bandsaw

Hello, im a hobbyist knife maker and a few months ago i decided to get a portable bandsaw. Now that ive been using it for a while i noticed that there are steels that will dull my blades fast. Ive noticed D2 is one i get a inch or two in and it will no longer cut.

Im wanting to make a list of steels to not use on a bandsaw, to save me and other knife maker's some time and money. Im getting in some Z-Tuff soon, has anyone tried cutting it on a bandsaw?

I try to see if anyone else has asked this question but i couldn't find any other threads about it.

Steels ive cut on my bandsaw with no problems 1075, 1084, 1095, 80crv2, A2 and if i remember right some AEB-L.

Thank you, Gabriel

It also depends what condition the steel is in. Whether it’s hardened or if it has scale on it. A lot of steels come from the distributors annealed and relatively soft, but I’ve run across some that weren’t.

The high alloy and very tough steels are harder to cut. Obviously, all hardened steel is not cuttable. Simple carbon steels usually are fully annealed when you get them and cut easily.

As Josh mentioned, scale from forging needs to be soaked off before cutting, as scale is very hard. You can cut through it, because it is thin, but it is best for your blade to remove it first. Soak forged blades/billets in sodium bisulfate ( Ph Down) overnight to remove the scale.

Also it's extremely important to use proper speeds when cutting higher alloyed steels. Slow the blade down, keep your feed steady, and use coolant or oil to assist. Letting a nonabrasive cutting tool of any kind sit and rub a high alloy steel will work harden the steel, making it very difficult to cut.

I have cut CPM-154, S35VN
M4, 8670, 80CrV2, AEB-L
Thickness from .060-.125 all from AKS. I use cutting oil and a good blade, works great.

The hardest I have cut was some 15N20, but it was not fully annealed and dulled my blade.