Who Has Had Formal Edged Weapons/firearms Instruction.....sound Off

GPB

What School?, Was It Quality?, Recommendations from Chris?, Attended with Your Wife?

Let's hear it!

Where have you taught Chris (that you can tell us that is)?

I have had firearms training in the past at Gunsite for basic, intermediate and advanced handgun. All courses were superb and I learnt a lot. My wife went with me on each occasion and we both felt it was money well spent. On the intermediate course, CJ gave an input as wel1 !

I have also attended Blackwater on my own and found it to also be superb.

I have also been on an Emerson hand to hand combat and edged weapons course which I thought was one of the best. This one left me sore for days after so I know I worked hard ! :D

Hi, gang! First post here.

I studied self defense under John McSweeney back in 92-94, and the curriculum included knives, clubs and point shooting. More recently, I've studied eskrima under Nate Defensor in Chicago. Heading off to a place like Gunsite or Thunder Ranch is included in the "future plans" column.

My first course was a college ROTC "Development of Weaponry" course which briefly covered history of firearms and then we shot target .22s on the range, with some .22 pistol familiarization (about 1980).

My first "real" :) course was the General Pistol 250 at Gunsite in 1982. Unfortunately, Cooper was out of country, but Clint Smith was the rangemaster. Unforgettable!

Next, Ohio Peace Officer Security firearms certification with revolver and shotgun (1987). This was part of a 130 hour Private Police Course at Columbus Technical Institute (now Columbus State Community College). I used my Colt Lawman Mk. V.