Why a TiNives Knife?

This is a chance for all you TiKnives fans to tell me why you own one.

First let me tell you that I'm not a collector. I'm a martial artist who hasn't ever found the right folder. The REKAT Sifu came close but it's too big and the the handle doesn't have the right feel. The large Sebenza is too short in the blade and again the handle is made for utility work not knife figthing.

Do I ever expect to get in a knife fight? Hardly, but I don't expect to sword fight but I've got a 600 year old user Katana that I use regularly for Iaido. I practice Shotokan kata five days a week but don't expect to have to use it either.

I want to hear from those of you who actually carry and have used your TiNives knife, especially manuals since that's what I'm considering.

Does it come sharp? Is it easy to keep sharp? Does the handle feel comfortable and provide a slip free grip? Does the fancy finish wear off the handle? Does that expensive roller bearing get gooped up with lint and dust?

Why should I spend $ 300+ on a TiNives knife when a custom folder isn't much more?:rolleyes:

roshi-

I owned one for a while about a year ago. My observations:

Does it come sharp?

VERY sharp. The one I had (Tactical Speedroller 4.25) would easily pop hair right out of the box.

Is it easy to keep sharp?

Unless something has changed, they do have a full convex edge, so unless you have the proper equipment, I imagine sharpening would be difficult. Under light use, mine never needed sharpening. I believe that TiNives does offer resharpening for a nominal fee.

Does the handle feel comfortable and provide a slip free grip?

The grip did not feel comfortable for MY hand. I personally prefer a wider, thicker grip, but TiNives have an already slender grip that tapers a lot towards the butt. This, combined with the blade-heavy balance, made it feel like it was going to slip out of my hand. Your own mileage may vary in this regard.