Why do some people prefer the steel handle BM's ??

Dan GSR

BOUNCED EMAIL: I need to update my email address in my profile!
I noticed that a lot of people like the older style steel handle on the BM's

Why????

I am fairly new to bali's so I never had a chance to own or use a steel bali.

I had two cheapie bali's when I was younger..Now I have a BM42
I love it

I plan on getting a tachyon and a 31 in the future, along with a Emerson Commander (wave is too cool) otherwise there aren't any other knives that peak my interest. Except the BM Kriss....but its too expensive and are all sold out.....sux being a student...and poor to boot.

All the older ones I have are 3" models, which flip okay in part because they are lighter than the 4" steel models. Many collectors still seem to prefer the heavy feel of the 4" for flipping over the Titanium models. Flipping is of secondary interest to me, relative to the Benchmade classics however, and it's the visual aspect of these knives that I like. There is also the human tendency to want that which is least available. At one time that was Titanium, now it's stainless.

Good question Dan.., and you'll probably get a myriad of answers to that question. The aspects that Bob mentioned are correct also.., and certainly many of the older Customs that are harder to come by are highly sought after for collection.

I like the SS handles for reasons that are quite common (I think).., among the "old-timers". ~~> The inertia created by the greater weight of the handles. The new Ti-Handles are fine!!! Well designed.., and I can certainly see how many folks who haven't handled lots and lots of this type knife would love them. I certainly like them better than I did when I first goofed around with one, simply through some assimilation to the difference in "feel". The older heavy Balisongs still feel much better to me simply because one's style of manipulating the knife is effected by weight dynamics, balance points.., etc.