Woman needs help choosing the right knife!

Hi All,

I am new to Himalayan Imports and the world of knives in general. I came across HI through some completely unrelated site and was intrigued to learn more. I have spent the last few days reading lots on the HI sites and forums and have fallen in love with the knives and the moral standards of this company and group.

I need some help choosing the right knife for my purposes. I live in Hawaii on a small farm property in Honolulu. I need a functional knife for cutting small brush (1-2 diameter), vines, tall and thick grass, and coconuts. Up to now I have used hardware store machetes.

So far, the sirupati blades look like what I might need. I like that they are well balanced and seem to be machete-like. I am looking at the 20" but it is a bit short compared to the machetes I have and that extra length is good for chopping dense grass, vines, and brush. The 25" sirupati is closer to the machete lengths I am used to but seems a bit on the heavy side. I am a woman of medium size and I am not sure if such a heavy blade would become tiresome with extended use time. In other words, I don't have that forearm and shoulder strength you men have!

Any suggestions on what would be an appropriate knife, sirupati or otherwise? Is it an option to get a 25" sirupati made on the lighter weight side?

I really wish I could hold these knives in my hand first!

I also have a neighbor I am going to buy a khukuri for as a gift. He has similar work requirements but is a guy and might be more comfortable with a heavier blade?

Much thanks for your input,

Sadly, you'll have to buy one of each in order to truly solve this mystery.

But I would think that a lighter blade would be better for cutting thin materials, if for no other reason than the momentum is less likely to carry through to your leg.