Wood for Handles

Good morning. I'm pretty new at all this so tend to dream up some dumb questions but here we go.

As I work on various projects I like to use materials available in my surroundings. In this case the surroundings are my farm in North Central Florida.
Wood is everywhere you look. Horn and bone can be had if I hunt around or kill something but I'm sort of an old termite so I turn to wood most often.

There are old live oak trees that died or were somehow killed years ago. The sap wood rots away but the skeleton remains standing for MANY years. This heartwood skeleton is VERY hard.

Has anybody tried this as a handle material?

Thanks

This is Dutch oak, a slightly different kind as American oak.
Try and get a piece with good rays (tiger stripe). On this one I filled the pores with wood dust and an oil/varnish blend.
You can leave them open as well.
It was a gift for my niece who emigrated to Sweden, Dutch oak handle and a Scandinavian design knife.

12_zpszspeu8u8.jpg

Snuck out this morning and cut a couple of pieces. Got one from at the root that is pretty interesting. From the trunk section the wood is incredibly hard and dense but seems more wet than I expected. So now there are 3 sample blocks on the bookshelf in the living room to dry more.

Live oak is incredibly cool looking way better than any other oak I've seen. I'm not typically an oak fan for appearance, but live oak is a good choice

That didn't work as expected but at least the image is there if you click the link. Computers are really not my thing.

No image, invalid attachment message. I wish I'd gotten more live oak when I had the chance, it's a very tight grained, very hard wood, at least for oak. It's also a light colored wood. If I'd gotten more I might have sent some off to be dyed and stabilized.