Wood Problems

Just started this gig as a hobby, I have always been fascinated by knives and this is a logical thing to do. I have started out by ordering blades and attaching scales and finishing knives. This was the best thing for me to do to see if this is what I want to do long term. I have put together some knives that I was not ashamed to sell for a small price of course. I have learned some valuable lessons on finishing handles and protecting blades during this process. I learned the hard way.

My background is in Quality Assurance, I am currently a Quality Engineer at a Ceramics plant. This is quite handy since I have access to all kinds of refractory that we throw away, this may come in handy if I decided to build a forge. We also have some type of moldable refractory that can be poured in molds. We make Alumina Oxide, Silicon Carbide and Tungsten Carbide, and yes, I see me making some knives with these materials. This stuff is hard and would make great knives. The tungsten is especially durable as far a ceramics go.

Due to my career in QA I don’t think I will ever make a knife to my satisfaction, this is probably a good thing .

To my question:

I have worked a lot with Cocobolo as a handle material. I am making some steak knives and forks for a dear friend at cost. I purchased the blades and forks and have put Cocobolo handles on them. They look very nice considering my current skills, but I took some out the other day and the wood had split through the middle pin. I purchased the wood at a thickness of .250 inches to save me ripping it. The split is perpendicular to the blade. I glued and pined the wood with brass pins.

Q – Does all wood have to be stabilized?
Q – Is the wood too thin to hold up?
Q – Did I get some bum wood?

I know I am asking the right group of folks. The knowledge that is shared her is amazing and the folks here are as kind as any I have seen. Thanks for any assistance you can lend.