Would The Native be a good knife for me??

Hello:
I am new to the forum and in the market for a new knife. I am a cop and need a knife mostly for cutting stuff (possibly seatbelts and other things that everyone else cuts) and self defense. I do not want anything expensive in the event that I lose the knife. I like the looks, feel and price of the Native. Some people have told me that this would be a poor choice for me because the lock design could cause the blade to accidentially close during a hand to hand knife fight. I know that the chances of me ever needing the knife for a fight are very very slim, but I want a knife that I could depend on if the situation arose. So, would the Native, given it's lockback design, be good for me? How likely is this lock design to close on my fingers accidentially? If you do not reccommend the Native, could someone reccommend something else in the same price range. Thanks

Lockbacks are not inferior to linerlocks, if that is what the person you spoke to was implying. The most important thing for any folding knife is how well the lock ways designed and made, not the type of lock used. Different lock types have different drawbacks and tendencies to fail in specific ways, almost any of them can be made correctly and work well or made incorrectly and fail miserably.

The US-made native (the one with s30v steel), despite often having parts that don't look like they line up, has a secure lock for several reasons.

The lock bar is easy to push, but all of the angles of the various parts make it so the blade does not close under simple force. Some folding knives use a really strong spring to make up for bad geometry in the locking parts. The native is the opposite. A super strong spring is not necessary because the lock was designed correctly.

The lock release also has the Boye dent, which helps reduce unlocking from a tight fist while also making it easier on your thumb to release on purpose.