Your first knife you made was?

So what was the fist knife you made? Do you have any photos to post? What tools did you use to make your first knife? How long have you been making knives? Can you post a photo of the last knife you made to show a comparison in the quality you learned through the years?

The knife I consider my "First" knife was a small drop point mad from a planer blade using a 6" bench grinder. Brass bolsters and an elk antler handle. I will have to post a pic later. The planer blades were so hard and I had no way or knowledge of how to anneal it or HT again after blade was done. So I ground a slot thru the tang with an angle grinder and used pins and epoxy to put it together. I did this in 1984 but I do not consider beginning until 1992 when i was taught how to forge and make Damascus. So I have been making for about 16 yrs.

Looking back at mine it was also ugly. But at the time I was very pleased that it actually cut. I even used it to skin out a caribou in AK.

My first was a cleaver I made for a buddy at work about 4 years ago.

Attachments

• cleaver2.jpg
    cleaver2.jpg
    43.1 KB · Views: 48
  • cleaver5.jpg
    cleaver5.jpg
    45.8 KB · Views: 39
This was my first when I didn't really know what I was doing last year and I've learned a lot but still don't know what I'm doing. I used a lot of files and sand paper and a small belt grinder. Just when I think I'm doing better something happens and screw something up but it's still fun. Yep, she's ugly.
IMG_3699_1.jpg

It was made from an old nuclear power plant fan blade and a tennis raquet handle.

IMG_3702_1.jpg