Your recommendation for metal band saw

Given a economical budget, which metal band saw manufacturer has the best equipment. Under $500? Which is the easiest of use?
------------------
Lead,follow, or get the hell out of the way!

[This message has been edited by TANGUS (edited 02-22-2000).]

Enco, Grizzly, etc, etc. There is an almost generic, made somewhere in the far east, metal-cutting bandsaw that costs in the $200-250 range. It uses a 63-1/2" blade, and while made as a cutoff saw, is likely used by more knifemakers than all others. Used with a good bimetal blade it will give good service and do your job well. I use mine for everything I need to cut, and it has worked fine for about 10 years. My first one lasted about that long, but died when I started playing with the gear box. My fault.
frown.gif

------------------
Jerry Hossom
www.hossom.com

TANGUS,

I did some comparison shopping of the cheapie models recently. The Harbor Freight horizontal/vertical seemed like the best deal. It did appear identical to the Grizzly and I believe one other (I cannot remember the brand). It had a higher HP rating, but that may be suspect. The price was lower as well. I believe it is about $170. The URL is www.harborfreight.com.

------------------
Pretty nearly all minds are now convinced that prisons, that receptacle provided for malefactors by the State, (are) schools for the education of men in crime. Let us grant ... so in any eminent degree; yet let us ask whether the State itself, as at present constituted, is not one large school for crime? Its foundation is force, its argument is force, its practice is force. No diviner principle does it recognize. It will obtain all the power, all the wealth, all the territory, commerce and control it possibly can. It does nothing by love, by moral suasion, by unbought attraction. -Charles Lane

Yup Those enco central tool cut off saws are the hot items. Just buy good blades from an industrial supplier..