I'm confused about multi tools

OK so I'm a 16 year old who likes knives and this is my first time entering this part of the site.

I've been looking into getting a good first multi tool. Budget of $50 preferably USA made. I was looking at the Gerber M600

Should I spend more or is that a good price range? I'm willing to go up to a hundred for one multi tool to last me the rest of my life

Last edited:
I think it depends on what tools you want/need to have.
Think about how you will really use it. If you will use a saw once in the next five years, you can probably live with out it.
I don't have any specific recommendations, but don't carry what you don't need.
The more expensive multi tools tend to have a nicer fit, the tools open smoothly but aren't loose with a lot of play.
But the less expensive ones are still a damn good value for the money.
I hate to be the one to tell you, but I'll bet you end up buying more than one over the years. I have bought a lot of them, and I still picked up another one a couple of months ago.
Probably not the answer you were looking for, but......

well, just one for the rest of your life is likely a bit ambitious if you've never had a multitool before and only want to spend $50. I would leave yourself open to the reality of buying a few different ones over the years and finding out what you like. A 'good first multitool' is distinctly different than 'the last multitool you'll ever have to buy'.