sharpening

well i bought one of those lansky sharpening systems and im new with sharpening knives. And i was wondering how i find out the angle of the blades. is there a way to figure out the angle on the knife?

Factroy grind angles will not be as stright as what the lansky will produce, so the first thing you will need to do with almost every knife is set a completely new bevel. You can either adjust the stone until it makes contact with the factory bevel or set it at 17deg for everything. I can only really see using two of the settings with the lansky though, the 25 and 30 I see no point in having.

I have never really heard any good feedback about the lansky's but try it out and let us know how it works for you. One more thing, use a sharpie to mark the edge then take a pass or two to see where you are grinding.

Spyderco Sharpmaker :D is the close second.

The first: Freehand sharpening with spyderco stones (303mf) if you have enough skill:p:thumbup:

When it comes to sharpening, listen carefully to anything knifenut1013 has to say: the man knows his stuff!

SBL212 -

i saw someone recommend you use the 17 degree angle. if you choose to, be VERY careful. when i was younger, i destroyed a knife trying to use that angle.

personally, i wouldn't recommend anything under 25 unless you're a surgeon and sharpening your scapel.

ETA - pay attention to where you clamp the thing (can't remember what it's called) on. use a reference point on the blade, that you can remember, so you put it on the same position each time

if you have the "deluxe" kit with all five stones. start with the extra coarse and create your own edge rather than hoping to match the factory's

personally, i wouldn't recommend anything under 25 unless you're a surgeon and sharpening your scapel.

90% of knife steels can handle 17 or less without any problems and going to a lower angle improves cutting performance MANY times.