shave soap bowl?

shootist16

knife law moderator
I'm looking for a bowl to put shave soap in. I am fairly new to wet shaving so I haven't settled on a soap yet. I would like a bowl that will accommodate a variety of sizes. I plan on getting a blue handthrown lather bowl when they get back in stock. I need something to store the soap in. Any ideas?

There are a few options for you
  1. Buy a cheap soap that comes in a plastic bowl/container, and either use the cheap soap and save the bowl/container, or throw out the cheap soap and put a puck of good stuff in it.
  2. Buy a nice soap that comes with a nice bowl and just keep reusing the bowl.
  3. Look at some of the more notable online shaving stores like West Coast Shaving they have a good selection of bowls for your soaps

I use options 1 and 2 myself. I bought some Wilkinson soap tried it and threw it out because I hated it. It cost less than $2 so it wasn't a big hit to the bank account, then I went out and bought some L'Occitane Cade soap and put it in the empty container. I also regularly use Proraso soap so I always have an empty container from that kicking around to use.

I say forego the super expensive shave bowls. I use a cheap bowl from the VDH kit with the soap and brush. I also use a $0.50 plastic bowl from walmart. Use a coffee cup that you already have. No need for a $50 scuttle when you can use a coffee cup you already own and pick up an electric mug warmer from a number of online or brick and mortar stores for less than $10.

I use a large coffee cup and a cheap mug warmer I found at a garage sale for my bowl lathering.