Small flashlight with magnetic tail

dewingrm

Gold Member
I’m looking for a small flashlight with a magnetic tail. It must have a low mode for reading. This is for my son currently on an aircraft carrier. Rechargeable would be good. He likes to read at night and the magnetic tail will work great while he’s in his bunk. It must be small and durable.

I’ve been out of the flashlight game for years. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I have a similar 90 degree light and I like it a lot, (Acebeam PT40).

But for just reading, maybe a machinist light. Magnetic with a goose neck.

15J7701-magnetic-mount-led-work-light-u-04-r.jpg

We bought him a book light and he hated the flexible neck. He’s currently using a keychain light I got free with an order. The Fenix looks like it might fit. I’m also considering a Olight imini since he’s probably only going to use it for reading.

Rovyvon Aurora A8 would also work.

ETA: That is, if you can figure out the user interface, which is ridiculously complex.

Last edited:
Armytek makes some really good lights. Magnetic tail cap / charging port is pretty strong and will easily support the light anywhere you stick it. Light output ranges from firefly to turbo mode in 5 stages, with 2 strobe modes.
These are the Wizard and C1 Prime
9xzNYay.jpg
XlKoMlc.jpg

Armytek makes some really good lights. Magnetic tail cap / charging port is pretty strong and will easily support the light anywhere you stick it. Light output ranges from firefly to turbo mode in 5 stages, with 2 strobe modes.
These are the Wizard and C1 Prime
9xzNYay.jpg
XlKoMlc.jpg

Good lights but, their close ties with the Chinese military could be a problem for someone in USA military service.

r/flashlight on Reddit is a great resource for questions like this as you are apt to find someone serving that can provide very specific advice. Folks over there have been super helpful to me.