what is the best throwing knife?

hey im new to bladeforums and i didnt know where to post about throwing knives so i thought i would do it under fixed blades. im looking for the best kind of throwin knife at the same time isnt too expensive. im a beginner and currently im throwing a really old maxam fixed blade. i know really bad knife. so i really want a good knife thats actually meant for throwing. thanks.

moved to appropriate sub-forum

boker makes several nice ones that are not too expensive. i have the three knife set, which comes with a nice sheath.

yeah ill see if there are any flea markets close. and i looked up those boker knives yeah they're real nice. you're right, i like the leather sheath.

I really like the Cold Steel Throwers. Classic designs that will never wear out or break. You will have to replace the scales on the models that have scale but that is true of any thrower. For that reason I like the True Balance Thrower that has no scales. It is close to a measured copy of Harry McEvoy's Throwing knife from the 1950s that still survive and are traded by collectors and throwers to this day
Sure Balance Thrower
Specifications:
Blade Length: 9"
Overall Length: 13 3/8"
Steel: 1055 Carbon
Weight: 18.3 oz
Handle: 4 3/8" Long​
No doubt you can pay more from a custom knife maker and get a better knife but for starters these are great. You can find them for about $15 each and they are well worth the price.

cold steel throwers are great! they are heavy enuf and strong/flexible enuf to survive any mistakes and they stick good and deep.

Good site with lots of info.

Deal spotting or posting outside links are a NO NO on this forum

Last edited by a moderator:
local flea markets usually have some cheap sets
Don't do that. Knives I've gotten from the flea market all end up breaking on me. I've never purchased a thrower there but I've gotten balisongs before. Better to spend an extra $3 and get a $15 thrower off of Amazon