"Alabama Damascus" blades?

Hi all,

I thought it would be fun to do a cord-wrapped handle with resin curing/impregnation project since I've never done a cord-wrap before. I wanted to follow one of the several excellent cord wrapping tutorials here on BF, an I wanted to go with a damascus blade. So, I was about to contact some makers to talk about the design, but then I found this site. After some research, it looks like people speak highly of the steel. But has anyone ever bought and used one of their ready-to-go blades?

On their website, they say they've already precision-ground, laser-cut, hollow-ground, heat-treated to 58-60 Rc, and etched the blades. All I would need to do is give it a final edge and some handles. At those prices, this is definitely looking very attractive for the project I've got in mind.

Anyone who's had one, what do you think about it? Here's the one I'm thinking about for my project: http://www.alabamadamascussteel.com/servlet/Detail?no=31

a20792a1316c5c4d65b7ba_m.JPG

Thanks,

mag

From what I've read and heard, they are first class blanks.

Can't wait to see the final product.

I've bought several pieces of their damascus steel. Occasionally, you'll find a little welding flaw, but the pieces I got were big enough to work around them. Plus, it's priced right, too. I imagine on their actual finished blade blanks, you'll not find the flaws, though.

It definitely has a great look to it. I bought one from Ebay once a guy in India making damascus who has seemingly quit doing it.. Was pretty nice, but that is nicer.

Ive used that same blank before.They are good.Go for it.

Thanks for the reply. In your experience, does it really only need a final edge and some handles? What did you think about the finish and the heat treat?

- Mag