"Beat the Hell out of it sword" (under $200.) ??? Yep, I'm gonna' be that guy.

Okay, I've just recently chimed in on the 'sword discussion' forum, but I've been using knives for 23 years in northern MN (pocket to Bowie). I'm not 'traditional', I'm not a 'practitioner', I'm just J.Davey. Yes, I have multiple machetes, so don't bother with those type of suggestions (please). The thing is, I want an inexpensive cutting sword to bring along on my 'no-trail' hikes. I've owned a CAS Banshee, which I loved, but my 20 year old nephew loved it more, so now it's gone. I'm now looking at the Kris Dadao, which seems like it would be quite durable, compact, and may just suit my needs perfectly. DO ANY OF YOU HAVE ANY OTHER RECOMMENDATIONS IN THIS PRICE RANGE (please keep in mind that it would be used HARD...if necessary...regardless, it WILL be used)???

Thanks!
J.Davey

Define "used hard".

What is the intended use? Do you essentially want a sword to take the place of your machete?

I dare to say because its about double your price range. A Waki, seems to be the best short sword that is tempered for pure functionality, THAT emediately comes to mind.

If i were looking for one right now that would be the one i went for.

Maybe some of the shorter Himalayan Imports swords, like the Tarwar, "Wajaski", or Bhutan? some of these are around or under the $200 range.

Support those that support Bladeforums.com

I'm with C.S. Graves...Himalayan Imports Tarwar

How about a Hanwei Practical Gongfu sword? It's a good inexpensive dao that you should be able to wale on pretty hard and not feel bad about it.

Kris Cutlery blades should stand up to hard use. I've used their bolos for yard work, including chopping down trees up to 6" across.

I have a Tarwar on the board for half of what you are looking for, price wise. Have at it to do your work with! :)