Carothers vs Fiddleback

I have turned my attention to fixed blades and find the 4” x 5” field/camp type knife very attractive. Ideally it would excel at light woodcraft and food prep.

I’m no expert, heck I’m barely a novice, so if this post seems overly simplistic or even stupid, please get me on track. But I’d like to know if anyone has used knives from both Carothers and Fiddleback and can tell me how they compare in:

General attributes of the steels used - A1/O2 vs 3V (or the other steels each offers)
Ergonomics
Fit and finish
Edge retention
Ease of sharpening
Toughness
Slicing/food preparation
Wood working
Other?

I know some of you could right a book on these subjects. Many of you seem to really use their blades, as opposed to collect them (which is also very nice), and I was hoping I could get some of your advice so I can see which one to really hunt for.

BTW, I think I would favor convex and high scandi grinds in general for the purposes described. Any practical information would be helpful. Thanks...

And to the Moderators, can I post this in the Fiddleback sub-forum too?

3V. Don't bother with A2 or 01 if you can afford a knife in 3v and it's the design that you like 3V is tougher more stain resistant and holds a better Edge. I've yet to have 3v tarnish but A2 or 01 will Rust/ tarnish quickly if not taken care of

Love both makers. Very different. I’ll leave it at that.
To begin with, given your intended use, I would probably not go much above 4” (possibly even a bit less) for the blade and be mindful of stock thickness if you’re using it for food prep. (Although CPKs have excellent grinds and are quite thin behind the edge making them good slicers. The upcoming FK 2.0 might be an option. My understanding is that it will be a slightly smaller/lighter version of the original Field Knife. Fiddleback models can be had in a variety of stocks from 3/32” - 3/16” (I believe; 5/32” is definitely not uncommon).)