Chef's Edge DVD from Korin

Does anyone have the "Chef's Edge" sharpening video from Korin? If so, what's your opinion on it?

Thanks.

A partner in crime and corruption lent me his copy of this video and I watched it twice tonight. The video showed me that I was oversoaking my waterstones and that much of the freehand sharpening I do should be corrected before I enter the glorious world of chefs' knives.

The sharpening dude, Chiharu Sugai, has three stones and an SiC 'stone fixer' at his station (unlike Murray 'Two Stones McGee' Carter) so the video is safer for viewing at the QuietOned household. Lacking Halifax-transplant Carter, it may not be as safe at the Wetdog1911 household (hopefully no one will ask you why you aren't more Japanese).

Safety, results-increasing tips, and microbevels are all featured with the total beginner in mind. Special emphasis on not changing the overall shape of the knife in an attempt to improve performance is given, so the vid is Bill DeShivs-friendly, too.

What a cool freaking video! Those folks at Korin will be getting an order from me soon. This decade, at least.

Is this a recommended buy?

Will this stop the "but Murray Carter....."

$29.95 or should I be looking further down the list.....;)

Yeah I'd really like to hear your opinions on this one vs the Carter video. :)

Thing is I can't even give the Carter video away. My wife thinks he's cute for one and she loves to remind me "But Murray Carter only needs two stones, cardboard and a building block and you want to buy __________ now"

But it's not all bad she actually is learning sharpening on bench stones. She does a fair job at it and she does understand the mechanics of it and is trying to refine her technique. Though when she asks for my help and I try to show her ..... you guessed it "But Murray Carter ........"

Murray Carter has a LOT to answer for.