CSC 420 or Queen D2. Which to choose?

I've been killing myself for months trying to decide on the best knife to purchase. I'm new to slip-joints, only owning 4. My Buck's my favorite so far, the Schrade is junk, the Case Tru-Sharp is over-rated and Grand-dad's Western can't survive too many more sharpenings. The pattern (3-3 1/4" stockman) is decided but I want The best carbon steel blades on the best and prettiest frame that $100 will buy me. I like to whittle so steel must be good and handle must be solid.

Please chime in with experiences, insight and wisdom as my time for deliberation is almost gone. Bday draws near and the wife wants my choice so the kids can give daddy his first high quality slip-joint. I just want the best knife I can afford.

I know nothing about CSC's 420. The 2 knives in D2 I have from Queen are great once they are sharpened up.

The 420 is probably 420 HC which is good stuff when properly tempered. The Queen D2 however is much better IMHO.

Case Tru-Sharp is 420 HC, same as Canal Street 420 HC so if you don't like Case stainless you probably won't like Canal St stainless. I've never heard anything that would suggest that Canal Street's 420 HC performs better than anyone elses. From an edge holding standpoint, Queen's D2 is much better.

However, my understanding is that Canal Street offers some knives in D2 steel, but I don't know if the small stockman is one of them.

Another option is the Case 3 5/8 stockman which does come with their excellent Chrome Vanadium high carbon steel. Case CV is my favorite carbon steel for slipjoints. The 2006 catalog has the 3 5/8" (medium) stockman in yellow delrin, red bone, and amber bone. I think you'd only wind up paying about $35 for bone handles and about $30 for the delrin.