How To Electrical - star vs delta with 3ph 380V and vfd

I'm here in France with a motor that I want to power
I have standard 230V single phase line power

I bought a VFD to power the motor -
1 hp VFD, 1-Phase 220V to 3-Phase 380V VFD
Input Voltage (Single phase): 220~230V
Output Voltage (Three phase): 380V

Here's the motor windings/wiring

Do I leave the motor as Star or switch to Delta?
It's currently setup as Star.

I've been told Star by someone and Delta by someone else
so which one and why?

c2hulQd.jpg

dAuOYQL.jpg

C6NiBxd.jpg

The hell is "star"?

Why does that motor say 380 220? I've heard of motors that can be wired to take 440 or 220. Or 240 and 120. But this is the first time I've seen one that was 380 220. Neat.

I'm not an electrician or an electrical engineer, but I think the difference between wye and Delta is the use of a center tap neutral. For example, Delta might have 240 volts between any two legs but it might also be 120 between two of the legs and a ground and 208 between the third leg and that same ground because of the difference in phasing. Whereas wye might be 208 between any two legs and 120 between any leg and ground and it has a neutral that is also at the same potential as ground. Delta does not use a neutral whereas wye has a neutral which that motor may or may not utilize. Since most motors of this design do not use a neutral, I would think it would not matter if you fed it Delta or wye, it would take either because it would only be taking the powered legs.

Is there a wiring chart? If it shows a neutral being used, then you probably can't use Delta. But that would be a very unusual motor design, designed more like a generator head than a normal electric motor.

Just my two cents. But I haven't had my coffee yet..

The hell is "star"?

Why does that motor say 380 220? I've heard of motors that can be wired to take 440 or 220. Or 240 and 120. But this is the first time I've seen one that was 380 220. Neat.