GEC #89 Fruit Knife...well, that was a surprise!

Dadpool

Gold Member
Single-blade spear point, 440C stainless :eek:, with three cheerful-sounding cover options: apples and oranges acrylic, glow acrylic, and Chestnut wood.

Color me very surprised indeed! :D

I've never owned any variation of the #89 pattern. If anyone would like to share pics, let's see them! :thumbsup:

I'm no expert, but I believe that is an understatement! :D I get positively giddy when GEC releases anything in stainless, and twice as giddy when the covers sound this fun.
I know I'm starting to regret going with the chestnut...:eek:

Based on GEC's archive of photos of past variations, I believe this is the first single-bladed #89 they've done. Is that accurate?

Based on GEC's archive of photos of past variations, I believe this is the first single-bladed #89 they've done. Is that accurate?

Could have sworn I’d seen a single blade when looking through those pics, but it looks you’re right. Must have just been blind for a couple of them.

This seems like just the knife to take to the farmers market.

When these were first announced I was not interested, but now I think these will be really great users for market and garden.

These will also make good gifts for non-knife people since they are easy to take care of and very slim and thin. I hope they have good snap.

Single-blade spear point, 440C stainless :eek:, with three cheerful-sounding cover options: apples and oranges acrylic, glow acrylic, and Chestnut wood.

Color me very surprised indeed! :D

I've never owned any variation of the #89 pattern. If anyone would like to share pics, let's see them! :thumbsup:[/QUOTE
Here you go. :)
View attachment 1544548

I know I'm starting to regret going with the chestnut...:eek:

You're good, chances are fair the orange and apple will have a seam. The glow in the dark somehow doesn't suit the use of this type of knife in my opinion. You picked a good one :thumbsup:

#89 Executive Whittlers
fJX4LcO.jpg