Hi, I'm new to knife making throw ur tips at me!

I recently took over a small shop, i now have a large coke forge grinders and all the hand tools i could want. very lucky to have this equiptment but not from great curcumstances.
i really want to get into to knife making and have a background in steel works just wanting some tips so throw em at me no matter how small. regards les

Let's try this in the knife maker forum...

Start by reading the stickies on too of this page
Search for any questions you have that have been adked here before

Last edited:
What Forger if Fire.

Don't burn down your house.

Good luck to you.

I do stock removal so my advice will come from that... but grinding bevels was the biggest learning curve for me. Having flat steel helped me a lot, especially if your looking for a straight/ parallel bevel. Mark the top and bottom center before grinding. Watch YouTube, depending on what kind of knives you want to make. There are awesome how tos out there.

Start by reading the stickys at the top of the forum. I think they even say NEW makers start here or some such thing. Once you read all the sticky links and get well studied you can come back here and ask any other questions you might have.

Absolutely, read the stickies at the top of this subforum first. MOST of your questions will have been asked by others hundreds of times already and answers will be in the stickies. These tips aren't your usual "use 1084 steel" type tips.

My tips:

Do as much leg work as you can on your own in terms of reading stickies, watching YouTube videos, reading books etc. so when you ask questions here they are based on a foundation of basic information. If going the YouTube route I would suggest watching everything by Walter Sorrells and Nick Wheeler. There are a lot of good videos on YouTube but it isn't always easy to figure out what is quality info until you start gaining some knowledge yourself and develop the ability to sniff out BS.