How do you decide what you are going to collect?

Hi,

I am fairly new to the custom knife scene, and being a Brit. currently posted in China have found the internet a god send.

I have been completely bowled over by just how many fantastic knives are out there, especially in the States and Canada.

In fact it can be quite a daunting experience trying to decide what to buy, and where to stop.

Fortunately I came across Les Robertson at an early stage who has been supremely helpful and extremely informative.

After discussing it with him I am initally focusing on Forged Bowies, with a list of makers, based on reputation and examples of their work (with one or two exceptions based on pure lust!) . But even with this criteria the choice is vast and funds limited.

So with so much at your doorstep, how do you guys decide what your going to collect and spend the hard earned on?

All the Best,

Stephen

First of all welcome to the forums.
Second you have selected a great knife to collect(forged Bowies)
Get on with it.
There are a bunch of makers on this forum that would be glad to accomidate you.
Randy

Welcome Stephen,

You sure found a good spot to meet and talk knives.

You've made at least one other good move: Les Roberston. He's extremely informed on all aspects of the custom knife world and also very generous with his time. I've learned a lot from him.

As for your choice of type of knives, well, you hit the target with me - forged fixed blades are what I collect, with bowies being my favorite blade.

As to where you from here - considering you're farily new to this gig, , I'd say do a lot more reasearch and ask a lot more questions before spending a lot more money. There's an almost irresistable temptation to dive right in and no doubt you learn a lot that way, but the lessons can be expensive.

1) Use the search feature on this forum to find archived discussions on points of interest. You will not BELIEVE how much information is already here.