How Long Does Shaving Sharp Last?

I've been making knives from AEB-L for a couple years now around 62 HRC on my AMES tester. I think my sharpening technique is improving as is my grinding. I try to get to about .003" BTE before sharpening. Almost sharp before sharpening.

I'll typically sharpen from 4000 to 8000 on water stones and strop on leather with green compound. I'll take them to an edge that cleanly shaves hair and slices paper towels in either direction. I like to use the knives without stropping between uses to see how long the edge lasts this way. I figure this is what most of my customers will do so I want to judge the performance on that. To me, it seems that I see a noticeable decline in sharpness after only a few uses including chopping up garlic and parsley so a lot of impacts on the board. They'll still shave but not cleanly. After maybe 2 weeks they wont shave anymore or touch a paper towel. They will slice paper cleanly for quite a long time. They will still cut almost anything extremely well but will start to slide on tomato skin which really bothers me. At this point, a couple light passes on a Miyabi hone or back on the stones will bring the edge right back. The strop doesn't help much at this stage because the edge is too far gone.

I know there's a lot of variables here (cutting board, technique, amount of cutting, whats being cut etc.) but without maintenance, I'm curious how long you would expect a knife to remain shaving or hair popping sharp in the kitchen?

My reason for asking is that I don't necessarily want to supply a customer with the sharpest knife possible. I want to supply something that will retain an edge that can cut skinned vegetables as long as possible without maintenance. I'm considering running my knives a bit harder or leaving a bit of a toothier edge to see how that performs. I also want to do some edge retention testing but just haven't had the time.