Is it time to CQI the PM2?

I was reading a review about the PM2 and it noted that the platform has not gone through a round of CQI like some other popular Spyderco knives. The reviewer's point was that this platform just "got it right" and has never needed significant improvement.

My opinion? The PM2 is a classic, must-have-at-least-one in every knife collection. It would get into the Hall of Fame on the first vote. Among the best knives ever. They can keep making them forever and I'm sure they'll sell forever, just the way they are.

But if (IF) Spyderco were to run it through the CQI process, what do you think should be updated?

I'd maybe suggest they put even a modest chamfer on the scales or do a hint of contouring. Something to soften those edges a bit.

(full disclaimer - if Spyderco has changed this knife in some way, I'm no expert on it's history. Please note what has been done.)

Yeah maybe change the stop pin like Colin said. They could also key the standoffs. I love the PM2. I’ve had more PM2’s than any other single knife by a mile - carrying one today. The main thing I don’t like about the PM2 is that it is not pleasant to disassemble and the action seems to be affected by almost all of the screws so it can take a bit of work to get it tuned perfectly.

I wouldn’t change anything about it, but I WOULD like to request the addition of a backlock version similar to what they tried with the Manix... take out the steel liners, and give me a smooth (not so smooth it’s polished like the KnifeJoy smock, just smoother than current) g10 backlock version. That would be a sweet knife.

The floating stop pin seems like a logical switch; I like that a lot on the Millie. Ditto on chamfering the handles just a bit more.

I'd love to see the flared lanyard tube replaced with a standoff (I'm not a fob guy), or if preserving the hole is important then with a non-flared part. I've never taken apart a PM2 because I'm too worried about that tube.