Katana in 3V

Richard338

Gold Member
I've been slowly putting together a non-traditional katana in CPM 3V steel and posting many of the steps over in Shop Talk. This is my first attempt at a sword after making about 30-40 knives in various styles. Since it is just about finished I thought I would post a few pics of the completed project over here. (I still have a sageo cord on the way)

The blade was made by stock removal from 3/16" thick 3V, heat treated by Peters to 60 hardness. I hand-filed a tsuba and made other fittings (seppa, fuchi and kashira) out of damascus.

The core of the handle is terotuf, assembled with corby bolts and epoxy (can't be taken apart).
I did a full covering with rayskin wrapped with silk ito over gold plated menuki.

The cost of the parts alone is more than any "battle-ready" sword on ebay, but I learned a lot and have something that I won't be afraid to do some chopping with.

xKd6R40.jpg

TnCEO0z.jpg

uUbelI2.jpg

wHtdtFc.jpg

SxYW1cc.jpg

I like your work alot, perhaps the only critical flaw would be the lack of spinal taper from hilt to tip, traditionally the taper at the tsuba can be a third an inch wide. So this things balance and weight distribution will be horribly off. You also didnt give it brass collar rings at the tsuba and it doesnt come apart, these are the first of qualities an expert and bladesmith will observe in that they will want to examine the tang for inscription. However given the quality of the steel i tip my hat to you for crafting this. I especially like the tsuba.

Have you done preformance tests yet?

Thanks for your comments. When designing I looked at a lot of measurements on this site: http://www.toyamaryu.org/SwordMeasurements.htm