Kershaw Leek or CRKT M16?

i am looking for a new pocketknife. my priorities are: durable, easy to maintain, opens quickly, strong, and SHARP! i will be using this knife mostly in day to day tasks such as opening boxes, but i'd like a knife i can use in defense as a last last restort (first last resort being a Glock 23).

i am leaning toward the M16, but have reservations about the whole made in taiwan thing. also, i have read that the steel is not properly prepared and doesn't keep an edge like it should?

i'm pretty new to all of this, and i'd appreciate any info on either knife. does the Kershaw's spring wear out? will it stay sharper than the M16? would it be a decent defensive knife?

thanks!

Check out the Random Leek with s30v steel. See my review, and other's comments:

http://www.bladeforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=278502

I haven't handled a M16. I do know my Random Leek came extremely sharp out of the box, able to easily push shave hair off my arm. In fact a co-worker of mine, who HAD really hairy arms, was amazed at how he could slide it down his arm and his arm hair would just push away. :)

The CRKT M16 is a lot of fun to flick open. It's addictive. I think it's a solid package for the money, and it's carried by LEO's I know, so that's good enough for me.

I like my M16-13Z and it seems fairly well made. Once you get the hang of using the flipper you will be able to open it pretty quickly. Please note that what appear to be thumb studs aren't really thumb studs ....they are more used for blade stops. Some folks have complained that it's hard to use the thumb stud, well it's because they aren't really for that purpose.

It holds an edge ok, it's not some super steel but it's fair. Probably comparable to the Leek in durability and edge holding ability. I'm not an expert so others will be able to give you a better steal comparison then I can.