KW 710-1401 review and discussion

GB940Rookie

Gold Member
I have been researching 3 3/4 - 4 inch blades for approximately three months. I was looking for a folder that was larger than my Gayle Bradley for farm and outdoor use. I have XXL hands and larger knives are always welcome when working. Plus, I had some knife money laying around that needed to be spent :D. I decided on the Knifeworks exclusive Benchmade 710–1401.

image_zps6t8luyce.jpeg
[/URL][/IMG]

For regular EDC, I prefer much smaller knives, e.g., BM 707, Spyderco Chaparral, Rookie g10 and Techno.
image_zpsefdzg8lc.jpeg
[/URL][/IMG]

Now onto the knife.
BLADE:
Sleek, sexy and aggressive. The recurve combined with the swedge and nice finish is quite attractive. Grind lines were very acceptable. I immediately noticed how the blade shape feeds the material to the belly of the recurve for very aggressive cutting. I'm no steel expert, but the M390 seems to work well. With edge holding equal to M4 and better corrosion resistance, what's not to like? The blade was scary sharp out of the box and still is after use.
image_zpsdutof6jm.jpeg
[/URL][/IMG]

HANDLE:
I wasn't sure about the blue/black combo but have been pleasantly surprised. The blue is darker than I expected. This combo combined with the bright hardware, polished pocket clip and blue standoffs make for a stunning look. The contoured g10 scales are very comfortable in hand and in pocket. This knife carries small for its size. The g10 could have been machined more aggressively but grip is still adequate. The liner jimping is standard BM fare, nothing to write home about. The liners are fairly thick and add a little heft. This is a workhorse knife. IMO, the flow-through body not only makes for easier cleaning but also looks better than the backspacer found on the standard 710.