Recommendation? Looking for info on a few grinders

Hey everyone,

Yes, this is yet another grinder thread...

I'm new to the hobby (started last fall), and am taking a 2 week ABS knifemaking course at the end of March. After the course, I'll likely upgrade from my 2x42 grinder to a big boy grinder.

Since I want to buy/cry once, I'm looking to go top of the line, and I've got things narrowed down to:
TW-90
Wilmont Quattro
Gibson 72 Deluxe
Brodbeck (probably the Mega Package).

Any reviews or comparisons of the above would be really helpful.

I'm having trouble finding much about the Gibson, but 84 Engineering in Australia makes them and Alec Steele sells them in the US. It made the list because of the carbide face plate and some other features that looked really promising. Does anyone have any experience with this grinder?

Of these grinders, what would you buy?

Thanks,
Jesse

I really like this one ...............
VaFzfip.jpg

Of the grinders you listed, only one has ratcheting belt tension. To me that is a huge bonus. I would not consider buying another grinder without it. I've ground on several different grinders and the TW90 tracking is by far the most stable and offers great fine-tuning. It comes fully assembled and ready to go. The only other grinders that I know of with ratchet tension are the Northridge and Burr King. I've never heard a bad word about a Northridge grinder. They did have issues early on with shipping times simply because they were overwhelmed with the amount of orders they received. The owner is a stickler for quality and holds very tight tolerances on his machines.