Marbles Trailmaker vs. Cold Steel Trailmaster

Subject line says it all. What is any one's experience with these knives. I have a Cold Steel Recon Scout I like a lot, I guess the Trailmaster in Carbon V would be similar. I have no experience with Marbles at all. These two knives seem very similar, I want to know what one I should look at getting. Any comparable knives (ie. a large bowie in the $200.00 range, carbon steel blade) considered too. Thanks.

I like my Busse Basic 9 a bit better than my CS Trailmaster. The grip and sheath suit me a little better. However, I used the CS for many years with good results.

I've handled the Marbles in a couple different grip materials and must admit that I want one also. I haven't field tested the Marbles, but the Busse looks and feels a little stronger. I have an extra Basic 9 in the "trade" forum that I bought for a relative who was unable to take it. If you decide on a Basic 9 and have something to trade, let me know at swsurgical@hotmail.com.

I have a stag-handled CS Trailmaster (in carbon steel) and a large stag-handled Marbles Trailmaker. I like both knives a lot, but they're completely different animals. If you've got the CS Recon Scout, you've got a good idea of what to expect in the Trailmaster. Solid construction and an extremely thick blade…near bombproof, but not the best knife for slicing or cutting through vegetation. The Marbles Trailmaker is a thinner, more refined blade and better suited (IMO) for a general-purpose camp knife (still plenty robust, though). So, as usual, it all comes down to how you want to use the knife…if you want an ultra-tough, semi-tactical field tool go for the Cold Steel. For a more traditional and versatile instrument, go with the Trailmaker. I should probably make it clear that I have no experience with the Kraton-handled Trailmaster…I avoid Kraton handles like the plague (or anthrax) :). Like I said, I think both are pretty good knives…just different.