Micarta grips and oil

I just received my ESEE 5 and oiled the blade. Some oil ended up on the grips. I decided to put oil all over the grips as it looked bad with spots of oil only. This ended up not looking bad but only darker.

It's my first knife with Micarta grips so I'm new to it. Could the oil maybe damage the Micarta? How do you clean Micarta?

Micarta consists of thin layers of a cloth or paper (in the case of your knife they are canvass) sandwiched in between layers of a plastic resin. The top layer of canvass will absorb the oil, sweat, or other liquids but it does not go any deeper than the thin layer on the surface. The scales are easily cleaned with Dawn dish soap or other degreasing soap. Should look good as new when your done.

Yep wash the knife and scales under warm water with some dish soap and they will be like new.

Don't use the dishwasher, the layers will delaminate. There is not need to soak, submurge, or use excessive measures to clean them. Removing the scales is possible, but stripping the barrels inside is common, and then you have to realign the scales to the tang. It's more effort than is needed.

Micarta consists of thin layers of a cloth or paper (in the case of your knife they are canvass) sandwiched in between layers of a plastic resin. The top layer of canvass will absorb the oil, sweat, or other liquids but it does not go any deeper than the thin layer on the surface. The scales are easily cleaned with Dawn dish soap or other degreasing soap. Should look good as new when your done.

Thanks rweeks! Worked like a charm!

Don't use the dishwasher, the layers will delaminate. There is not need to soak, submurge, or use excessive measures to clean them. Removing the scales is possible, but stripping the barrels inside is common, and then you have to realign the scales to the tang. It's more effort than is needed.

I'm very afraid of the dishwasher. Just stuffed up my wife's pressure cooker's lid in there and she gave me hell.