Recommendation? My Next Cold Steel?

Smaug

Gold Member
Currently in Cold Steel, I have a Tuff Lite and a Voyager L, clip.

The Voyager's too big; I'll never use it. The Tuff Lite is the most comfortable knife I have, in the hand. But I'm finding I don't really care for the blade shape. It's not good for slicing food; knuckle interference problems with the table. I'd like something in the 2.5 - 3" range. But I think I could "settle" for 3.5", since that's what Cold Steel likes to make.

Should I get an American Lawman, while they're still readily available used, and overpay?

Or should I get a Code 4?

My day job is office work, so I feel like the Code 4 makes more sense for me anyway. It's one of those that will likely be carried a lot and used a little. I also feel like the Code 4 will be easier on my pockets than the AL.

But the AL's grip looks better; more ergonomic.

Other knives I have in that size range: Spydiechef, Benchmade 940

Code 4 is very easy to carry.
Its also very smooth to open.
Hob3Emdh.jpg

It comes with some sharp areas that I smoothed out and its pretty amazing.
Try a tanto for fun, mine is very slicey.
Vgu5BuQ.jpg

American Lawman is a great knife. Though, I do like the older thicker handles better. The new thinner handle makes it a bit awkward for me to deploy

I would check out the Grik...3" blade, and I like that the clip is as wide as the handle, so its actually like part of the handle. Could also look for a used Mini Lawman...2 1/2" blade. I went from the Mini Lawman to the Tuff Lite to the Grik for EDC. If they offered the Tuff Lite with a slightly curved blade, that would probably be my perfect knife, as it looks more "utility/tool" rather than "weapon".

Both are good choices. Both have handles that are thin. Lawman is wider in the pocket. Neither scale material is especially rough. Aluminum is smoother and arguably a bit slick. You may need to reduce clip tension on both; CS is notorious for tight clips.