New to the forum. Looking forward to establishing some dialog

Hey guys, and ladies. My name is Pat. First time posting. I'm new to this, so please cut me a bit of slack, at least at first, if I'm asking a question that's come up in the past. Here goes:
When grinding bevels, I always seem to have a bit more mass in the tip, I'm thinking for fear of making it to thin, which sometimes happens when I hold the blade all the way until coming off of the belt if that makes sense. I end up getting inconsistent grinds, and panic when I see the lovely little burns. Basically, hoping to get some insights on how to grind a consistent bevel..

I like to use a work rest. Hold the tang in my right hand and press the blade against the belt with my left with the wadded up paper towel between the blade and my thumb.

I'm sure a wet glove would work as well.

Awesome. Thanks for t
I like to use a work rest. Hold the tang in my right hand and press the blade against the belt with my left with the wadded up paper towel between the blade and my thumb.

taking the time to respond. Just that little bit of advise helped me out. Looking forward to trying it out.

I suggest using a sharpie or layout fluid to see where your belt is hitting, then you can make minor adjustments to re-train your muscle memory to hit where you want.

A caution I'll throw in here (but it might not be an issue with grinding), is that a wet glove can take time to remove and the same glove that insulates your skin from the heat can also keep the heat on the skin when it gets too hot. And if it's leather, when it heats up it'll shrink, making it tougher to remove.
This is one reason I don't like wearing gloves while forging, especially in the summer when sweating.

This is a good point. I've never used a glove myself. Nor have I seen anyone else. I like to have bare on the blade when I can.