Princess Mononoke: Real Ashitaka's Sword

William Stowe

BANNED
I want to make a high quality functional Ashitaka's Sword, from the movie Princess Mononoke.
Also I will make the sword scabbard.

This will be an exact replica no redesigns.

I want to use only materials native to Japan.

Blade Material: VG-10 Stainless (I would rather use L6 alloy)
Handle Wrap: Red Silk Cord
Bommel Ring: Brass Alloy
Scabbard Material: Giant Timber Ply-Bamboo
Scabbard Harness: Golden Silk Cord

I've been making custom swords and knives for the last 7 years. I work for Stowe Technologies.

Last edited by a moderator:
I want to use only materials native to Japan.

Blade Material: VG-10 Stainless (I would rather use L6 alloy)
Handle Wrap: Red Silk Cord
Bommel Ring: 330 Brass
Scabbard Material: Giant Timber Ply-Bamboo
Scabbard Harness: Golden Silk Cord

I've been making custom swords and knives for the last 7 years. I work for Stowe Technologies.

You should use tamahagane for the blade, and bronze for the fittings....if you can't even start with that knowledge, you don't deserve crowdfunding...jeez!!!!

Best Regards and Good Luck(you'll need it)

STeven Garsson

Last edited by a moderator:
You should use tamahagane for the blade, and bronze for the fittings....if you can't even start with that knowledge, you don't deserve crowdfunding...jeez!!!!

Best Regards and Good Luck(you'll need it)

STeven Garsson

Take your idiot advice somewhere else.
The brass alloy has a higher corrosion resistance, and higher resistance to abrasion.
VG-10 is a superior alloy.
Why did you reply to my post?
Check the facts, you fool.

The brass alloy has a higher corrosion resistance, and higher resistance to abrasion.

I agree that bronze would be way better for the ring. The ring on a real Ashitaka sword would be bronze.