Suggestions for sharpening Lionsteel M390 M4

How do you Lionsteel owners go about doing this. I love my M-4 in M390 but it is dull - it can barely slice through paper. I am a novice sharpener.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

I'd check this thread out for some tips, seen here

sharpening

and I am sure that folks will want to know what kind of system you currently have now?

G2

Hi, Gary:
Many thanks for suggesting the Seven Secrets - It is excellent!
Well I am a novice but I would like to learn how to sharpen properly. All I have right now is a small portable Worksharp, a Fallkniven DC4 stone and a good strop with Green and Black stuff. I have read that M390 requires diamond stones and have read suggestions about getting DMT stones or using wet-to-dry sand paper over a strop. The different Japanese stones intrigue me but they can be expensive. I have a gut feeling that maybe my best first steps would be to use the sandpaper method but I loved watching the Japanese method of using stones and holding the knife at the right angle. So to me - a total beginner - there are a lot of possible ways of doing it and I guess I will just have to start with one method and learn from there.

I’ve not had issues sharpening my Lionsteel folders in M390 using my Sharpmaker. Once you get it back sharp, be sure to not let it get too dull. Lot harder to get your edge back again.

Perseverance is key, in about any endeavor. I have sharpened about every type of steel out there so far, with only a few exceptions. And M390 I have had many different knives made with that and did not find I had to get diamond stones to sharpen them.