Supersteels. Do we really need 'em?

Hello everyone!
I'm new here and as green as possible! :p Just saying this in case I did something wrong and out of place.
I'd like to share my general reflection which revolves around blade steels.
I'm from Poland, Cracow, I've been collecting knives since 8 years. Most of the time I was a typical steel snob. M4, Zdp189, XHP, S90V, S35vn, Vanax75, many other cpm steels...yes, my knife had to be made of something exotic, hard to sharpen, expensive and with great edge retention. I dunno why, but one day I decided to buy something more normal and mediocre and bought cold steel Pendleton Hunter in vg1 steel. And now I feel like I just rediscovered knives once again! I feel like I've already forgotten how pleasure to use and maintain a knife can be. Right now I have one blade in vg1, delica in vg10, benchmade in 154cm and don't want to look at supersteels never again. This medium grade steels require 4-5 times less time to maintain hairpopping sharp, I don't have to worry about microchipping while working with the hard wood, they are helluva less expensive...my question right now is : why everybody, (and I in the past) is so "possessed" with steels which are pain to maintain, with heartattackgivin' msrp, and many of us so called"knife guys" can't even resharpen em properly?

Last edited:
I think "hard to maintain" really depends on what sorts of sharpening tools you're working with. On the Wicked Edge, M390 is easily one of my favorite steels to sharpen and it is extremely easy to maintain simply by stropping. So I feel like I'm getting all the benefits of higher grade steels without really any "but it's hard to sharpen" drawbacks.

If I only had some benchstones or a sharpmaker, I imagine I might feel differently.