The Liberty Series

Howard Wallace

I’ve been dropping hints for a couple of years about a special project I was working with HI. The postman delivered the results today and I must say I am most impressed. After extensive communication with HI experts, the three blades in the liberty series were created. They draw from the cultures of Scotland, the United States, and Nepal. The blades are the liberty bowie (L1), the liberty dirk (L2), and the liberty khukuri, (L3). Purists from any of these cultures will complain. What kind of bowie has a cho? What kind of dirk has a coffin handle? What kind of khukuri has a guard? The answer is that these do.

These designs draw heavily on Master at Arms James A. Keating’s insights into fencing with a blade. Years ago I discussed the khukuri with him. While he acknowledged the khukuri’s deadly effectiveness, he didn’t care for them because of their lack of defensive capability. Even Kami Sherpa tacitly acknowledged this when he explained (as quoted on this forum) that the Gurkhas are willing to “trade up.” A finger for an arm, an arm for a head, etc.. This philosophy is alien to the fencer, who strives to make a touch without being touched himself. The liberty series incorporates both offensive and defensive abilities that accommodate a fencer’s approach. You will notice forward curving guards aligned with the cho. Some will have seen such designs before, perhaps in Keating’s crossada, or Bill Bagwell’s Hell’s Belle. (Bagwell has also been heavily influenced by Keating’s theories and techniques.) Those who do not understand the purpose and/or usage of these designs will scoff at them, and that is ok. Those of us who have studied and practiced with them understand. The other thing we understand is that we may have to drop a grand or more to buy a good blade effectively incorporating this type of design.

1013517_10200917584516384_1186604360_n.jpg

1013517_10200917584516384_1186604360_n.jpg