Time thief

Hello all! Short time listener , first time caller. I know there is a "new guy" thread. However, I will also ask a question. Total newb. I only have 2, what I would describe as "nice knives". First was a production model karambit and more recently a handmade number purchased here (thank you Bruzek!). So, here's the question. Ive seen folders for sale that seem really expensive. I REALLY do appreciate "nice" things and understand you have to pay for them. However, there must be a point of diminishing return. Is the high end stuff that nice? If you keep it well, does it hold value? I know the fitment must be better. Materials maybe more exotic. Are they magical?
Thank you for your imput.

Seriously though, you're paying for excellence in fit and finish, high quality material and outstanding costumer service with limited lifetime warranties.

Most custom makers also offer warranties that are typically the lifetime of the maker, excluding abuse.

Depending on your tastes and budget, you can spend as much as you like!

there must be a point of diminishing return.
There is. It is different for each person. With any material possessions in life, there are those people who just want something to get a job done and nothing more, and there are those who want to get that job done with a certain satisfaction in the tool used, and there are those who are true aficionados who get deeply into various aspects of the thing.

Take wine, for example. If you just want something moderately tasty to go with a meal, that will still get you a mild buzz, there are plenty of decent wines in the $10-$15 per bottle range. As you get above $20-30, the wines improve but you need an educated palate to appreciate some of the finer differences.