What do you look for in a pocket knife?

Hello everyone, I'm fairly new to collecting pocket knives (so far I've got a cold steel spartan and a helly-tec OTF) and I was looking to do reviews on my YouTube channel. What หมวกกันน็อค are some features you look for in a good pocket knife? I appreciate any and all input, thank you for your time.
[spam link removed]

Last edited by a moderator:
A lot of it comes down to personal preference. Blade steel is always important. I like s30v a lot, same with 154cm but there are plenty of other great steels out there.

I check where it’s made prior to purchasing. I generally much prefer to buy American made whenever possible, especially with knives and other tools. (Ok exceptions are made for Swiss Army knives and German razors, but besides those)

At this point I look for something fun or different to what I already have. Be it a new (to me) steel, a different opening/closing mechanism....

Or just something that looks amazing. Yeah, I'm shallow.

What do you look for in a pocket knife

I've found coins in my knives a couple of times, and the end of a key.

On a more serious note, given your relative lack of experience, what is going to set you apart from the scores of other youtubers doing knife reviews? I'm not asking that to be discouraging...I'm legitimately interested in your response.

There are a number of things, such as blade length, blade shape, steel/materials, ergonomics, a good clip, solid lock, good action, etc. But pretty much all those things are subjective in one way or another, and the importance of each attribute varies from person to person. I'd recommend watching/reading some reviews of knives to see what are some of the potential good and bad things about knives and to help you learn what kind of stuff you like.