What was the most popular knife when you were in school?

Grade school thru high school.

Be sure to tell us the time period and patterns.

Last edited:
I graduated HS in 2002 so for much of my HS years "Zero Tolerance" was in play this of course didn't actually stop things and most schools in my area, Middle Tennessee, didn't begin installing metal detectors until those final years fortunately I never went to a school with them. I think most kids just had some type of multi-blade traditional, SAK type multi-tool, or Leatherman type multi-tool.

This thread needs pictures.
In elementary school, late 60s to early 70s: cheap Scouts and Campers

md6ctuX.jpg

My first knife was a Kutmaster. :)
luCJezM.jpg

Last edited:
In high school in south Alabama in the late 1990's/early 2000's, most guys had pocket knives, but the only ones that would brag about what brand carried Buck, Cold Steel, or balisongs.

Mid 70s.. In my neck of the woods I do not recall anyone carrying a knife in school.. Had a teacher keep a Colt .45 that he carried in his desk though!!! I carried a BUCK 309 thru Jr/Sr high School.. Still have it though retired!!! John

1996-2000 in Western Ny. Big fat rubber handled knives like Gerber gators and Kershaw black horses were big. I carried a Kershaw DWO II at that time.

Last edited:
1962 to 1974 is when I was in school.
I and most of my classmates carried a 2 blade jack knife, or a 3 blade stockman, or a 4 blade Scout knife/SAK from first/second grade to our sophomore year of high school (1971)
However, a few started carrying a Buck 110 in 8th and 9th grade.
Starting in 1971, most of us who took a shops class started to carry a Buck 110 or Schrade 7OT.
I'm not sure how many besides myself kept the slipjoint in our pocket and carried both.

Those who didn't take a shops class for the most part didn't carry a lockback, but kept whatever slipjoint they had in their pocket.