first try at a butterfly sheath

well, this is my first try at a butterfly sheath (my new edc needed a sheath), and as usual i learned quite a bit from it.

a couple of things:

- i am not satisfied with my work with the stitching awl. didn't get the hang on it this first time. i'll have to see if it improves over time. currently i am more satisfied with armitage's way of creating a faux saddle stich in round holes.
- the tiger thread is great! really, it's just worlds apart from what i used up til now. 0.8mm tiger thread and 001 john james needles (those suckers are pointy for stitching needles)
- applying 2 coats of bag kote over the coloured tooling and then putting the antique past on with a toothbrush worked reasonably well. it shows the best at the outer border of the green. sealed it with another layer of bag kote.
- i need to be a bit more generous with space. the sheath was almost too tight at the throat, i had to wet it on the inside an leave the knife in over night (wrapped the handle in saran wrap).
- next time i won't skive the liner. seems unnecessary to me. also made it harder to glue the pieces/more work to grind flat afterwards.
- how do you guys avoid the "stretch" marks when punching your stitching holes? are my awls not sharp enough, or did the colour not penetrate deep enough?

overall i am reasonably satisfied for a first try. oh, one more thing... there has to be a better way than blocking with finish to make dual/multi coloured leather pieces. i tried a brush this time, but i messed up anyways and wasn't satisfied at all with the eveness of the saturation. how do you guys do it? anybody tried frog tape?

well, this is my first try at a butterfly sheath (my new edc needed a sheath), and as usual i learned quite a bit from it.

::snip::

a couple of things: