Sheath making tutorial(Pic intensive)

nick681

Gold Member
This is my first attempt at a tutorial so please be patient. I am not a photographer so the pics are not pro quality. The materials, methods, and equipment in this tutorial are only how I do things and are not the only way to go about sheath making.

99.999999% of what I know about sheath making comes from the kind help of many of the fine folks that frequent this and other sheath making forums. Without the help, advice, and encouragement of guys like Paul Long, Sandy Morrisey, Duane Puckett, Mike Bartol, Dave Cole, and Dave Abramson I would not able to do the kind of work I am able to do now. These guys taught me most of all that none of this stuff is a secret and that there is room for anyone who wants to make and sell knife sheaths.

When I decided to make a knife sheath I saw a tutorial and thought "Wow, I can do that!" Well..no I couldn't but I sure did try. So, after that I kept looking for tutorials but did not find too many. So now that I know a little bit about sheath making I figured I would post this and see if I could help provide a little information to folks who are looking to get started.

In this tutorial I will outline how I build a Randall style sheath. I will make two of them. One will be hand sewn and the other I will do on my machine.

First off there are certain things that you need to make a knife sheath a knife, materials, and tools.

And yes my shop is a mess! It is not completely set up, we just moved in a couple of month ago, so I have not yet gotten completely organized. But it works for now and it make me happy.

Materials: