Best multi tool??

Monofletch

Basic Member
Hello

I have been looking at multi tools/pliers for a few days and it seems I need to consult with the Bladeforums EXPERTS on the subject. I have looked at SOG, Leatherman, Gerber, Ganzo, Roxon. SAKS are in it too..... I even liked the Ruike tool.

I have a SAK Monarch (needs a scale replaced) - a SOG Switch tool- and my Army issue Gerber 300(?) I was looking to upgrade if I could. My Army Gerber always pinches my hands. The Switch doesn’t have a lot of options for tools. My Monarch is functional but needs a scale replaced. I have had it since 1990 when I graduated basic training.

If weight and size are not an issue ..... (your opinion) what is the most useful multi tool available? Please explain why if you can.

Last edited:
If it is pliers based multitool, I would highly recommend Victorinox Spirit X--one of the lightest weight full size MTs, every tool can be accessed from the 'outside' and they are so well made that each individual tool could be taken out with buttery smooth action. Wave/Charge series from LM is pretty decent as well, but in terms of QC and material, I would think Victorinox is one step ahead.

I have tried two Leatherman Charge TTI multitools. Honestly the quality of them is just so so. Maybe it has to do with the complexity and function, but definitely not as good of quality as SAKs (yeah it's an apples vs oranges comparison).

I've had a Leatherman wave for well over ten years. It's been good to me.

I also keep a SOG Powerassist in my glovebox, it's nice too. It rarely sees the light of day, whereas the wave is really beat up. Probably time to replace it.

Of all the Leathermans I have held or used I never tried a Charge or Wave. Just the Supertool and the Sidekick (I think). Both seemed well built, but if that Swiss tool is even better...wow!