Full tang not necessarily stronger tang.

Almost a given these days in the era of over-built knives most expect a full width, full length tang.

Historically this was not the case for swords or knives.

I am not a designer myself but listened to a historian weapons guy talk about most knife and sword failures don't occur in the tang. In fact a partial tang of a softer steel can in fact give you a more robust knife the a monolithic super steel full width full length tang.

Kinda makes some sense thought it would be interesting to get opinions on it.

It would be boring if all knives were the same. Various designs are fine with me as long as the craftmanship is up to the task.

Every time someone on here proclaims they would never buy a fixed blade that didn't have thick blade stock and a full tang "for strength and reliability" I think about all criminally stupid things I've done with a Mora, and then I smile thinking about how much it would cost to replace it even if I did break it.

On my long list of items of forum common wisdom that are mostly untrue, "knives with a partial tang are too weak to be trusted" is right up there near the top.

While in many many cases stick/partial tangs are adequate, if treated equally more steel will be stronger.
Historically resources have been scarce, and no more was used than absolutely necessary.
Why compare different styles with different treatments to proclaim one style being superior.

I have absolutely no problem with buying or using a knife with a reduced tang. I suspect the full tang (full thickness and full length) are generally stronger, but I don't really do much that requires that strength. I think when buying or choosing a knife and eliminating reduced tang knives from consideration is a mistake. But everyone has their preferences.

In part, the tang design reflects the type of handles that are or were being done or were popular.

Last edited:
And here I am, reminiscing about the 90’s...

a0011567119_10.jpg