Half Stop or Not?

First off I'd just like to say that I'm new to traditionals and have become smitten with them, and yet I have only one: a cranberry sawcut bone TC Barlow with a single sheepfoot main. What a knife. I love its walk and talk--especially the crisp half stop. I like the half stop so much that I have almost gone so far as to say that I really rather have half stops on all my knives (one big functional reason is one handed closing). A positive and authoritative half stop just screams quality!

That said, I'm pretty excited about knives without half stops, too, although hesitant to pull the trigger (on, say, some of these recent 35s and 81s).

What is it that ya'll like about half stops, and what do you dislike?
What are the pros/cons in your eyes?

Any insight will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks folks!

Oh and when I tried searching for this I didn't find any real discussion on this point. PLEASE just send me over there if there's already a thread about this.

Cheers,
EN

I don't fully understand the purpose but they do seem to aid me in opening and closing a knife with more ease regardless of the pull strength. I don't require them but would say I prefer them and honestly never had a knife with one until I got the Roundhead. I do think the smaller the knife and/or blade the more difficult it probably is for them to have the half-stop and I know there are some smaller blades I would love.

Doesn't make a difference either way. However the only times I have cut myself with a knife upon closing were with slipjoints that had halfstops.

I never had a knife with them in the past but I like them now. Not a deal breaker either way but oddly enough, I kinda lean towards preferring them.
Matt

I prefer half stops on traditional knives, but no half stops on any one hand opener.
Rich