Recommendation? Looking for a bowie

upstate88

Gold Member
I am in the market for a new knife, and was hoping to get some recommendations. I live in Oregon and spend a lot of time living out of a pack in the back country. Hunting and fishing is my game. Currently a cutco drop point hunting knife lives in my pack, but I am looking for something a bit more fun. It has to be small enough to actually use on game, as the only other knife I carry is a gerber skinner (the little guy with changeable blades).

- I am not a pro with a sharpener (learning, and have some threads up)
- trying to stay away from recurves
- 4" at the lowest end
- Bowie-ish style would be cool
- under $250

Svord Hunter 7
Svord%20Deluxe%20Hunter%20Knife%20-%20Model%20280H%20copy.1.jpg

Length of Blade (inches) 7"
Over All Length (inches) 12"
Blade Shape Hunter
Handle Material Mahogany and Brass
Steel Specifications 15N20
Blade Thickness (mm) 3mm
Sheath Leather
http://www.svord.com/index.php?id_product=16&controller=product

I've field dressed and butchered deer with a Cold Steel SRK, it's a clip point blade reminiscent of Sheffield Bowie. Falkniven has something similar. I own, but have not field dressed with a Buck 119; but I know people have. The Puma Bowie in 440c is a little spendy but very pretty.

Something like a Cold Steel Trail Master seems really cool, but way to big for field dressing (or most any other chore) in my opinion.

I often opine that I could field dress a deer with a saber or a piece of glass, but given my druthers I'll take something with a thinnish, narrowish, 3.5 - 5 inch blade. So if I'm going to recommend a Bowie type blade for hunting, I'll recommend something on the smaller side.

You should check out Bill Siegle’s work. He is also based in Oregon and specializes in Bowies, camp and utility/bushcraft knives. I am sure that he can come up with something nice for you.

He is a member here and has a sub-forum on this site.
n2s