What Did You Sharpen Today?

Want to see if maybe I can start a thread and see some of those edges on any tools.
I'm working on a cheap work axe at the moment so can't even get the ball rolling with a picture but maybe someone can.

Want to see if maybe I can start a thread and see some of those edges on any tools.
I'm working on a cheap work axe at the moment so can't even get the ball rolling with a picture but maybe someone can.

I'm an amateur but these are relatively recent:

1xAv03T.jpg

LMbGIhj.jpg

NA8M29j.jpg

Last edited:
Got this Plumb done today. Not a pretty sharpening job but it turned out razor sharp. As the knife guys say it's scary sharp. The last file I put on it was an old Nicholson 6" fine cut and that did it.
hWyiuuol.jpg

Looking good. Amazing how a piece of steel can be so enjoyable to even look at LOL.

Here are two I got done today, they are work tools that I use mainly on roots so I hit rocks sometimes. I have them just sharp enough to do the job but that piece of crap one with the yellow handle was a job and a half just to get it where it is now.

My Estwing that I have had for the longest time...poor fella.

Then the ugly one. A Brico axe

Got this Plumb done today. Not a pretty sharpening job but it turned out razor sharp. As the knife guys say it's scary sharp. The last file I put on it was an old Nicholson 6" fine cut and that did it.
hWyiuuol.jpg
nice Plumb Butterfly pattern axe, what size?
Plumb Butterflies are one of my favorites. usually good steel and straight bits.
oh yeah what did i sharpen today. i'm working on a Master Mechanic Michigan pattern axe.i don't know, maybe it's a Hoosier?

buzz

Last edited:
Buzz,