Spyderco Fakes & Knock Offs Info

Discussion in 'Spyderco' started by RevDevil, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. cabfrank


    Jun 21, 2010
    No chance.
  2. Ulf Krogstad

    Ulf Krogstad

    Nov 19, 2013
    How do you spot the Fakes. I bought a Paramilitary and Military today and i wouldn't know how to spot it. The paramilitary i got from here so less worried about it. But Military i got from fleabay and this guy has a couple other complaints about Spyderco Damascus Fakes that i didn't check before bidding. So worried now. It has the box and all the right serial # and product keys and everything i believe. Do the fakes get copied that well. Had the same problem with Fallkniven. Bought like 4 from a seller in India, thought i was getting a super deal thinking since the steel is made in Japan maybe these Indians got them for cheaper prices or something. They WERE LISTED AS HAVING VG-10 and had no clone or fake written anywhere in description. I asked him if it was indeed VG-10 and he told me no was 440 or something didn't really have a anwser so got a refund immediately.Luckily weren't shipped yet. But kinda put me off from Fallkniven. But the sheaths had different design than originals that would be the only way could tell from picture. I am wondering if any body has heard of Spyderco Military Fakes? Cause i haven't seen any but today either got a good deal or a fake Military. It's a c36gpbk model.

    Last edited: May 6, 2014
  3. dericdesmond


    Sep 10, 2007
    Ive got a new way of presenting myself to sellers who slang fakes, have yet to get a reply and a few have been ended early :p

    "Dear williamc8886,

    Hello is this a fake? Also the southard and military you have up? If I get it and its a fake I will leave negative feedback & file a dispute. Thanks for the input. Cant be too careful with all the snakes out there that have absolutely no honor. Not sure how these parasites sleep at night."
  4. Thomas Linton

    Thomas Linton

    Jun 16, 2003
    Mind if I use that?
  5. newknif

    newknif Banned BANNED

    Apr 30, 2014
    I'm going to get an Endura 4. I want to see why Spyderco is so darn popular. I know it's the Japanese version but they are priced well and I can probably swing it. I can just tell the wife that it's a high end bubble wand for the kids.

    Is there anything I should look for? I'm really glad about this thread at this time by the way.
  6. 00ChevyScott


    Dec 3, 2010
    Ulf, those knives are fake. Just based on the feedback of the seller, the number of knives sold using the same exact pictures and description, the low price, the shoddy looking blade coating, and the other knives he's selling. I wouldn't buy it.

    Sal, this guy has a bunch up for sale.
    Last edited: May 8, 2014
  7. dericdesmond


    Sep 10, 2007
    Sure jus include 4% paypal fee/net
  8. coyotebc


    Jan 26, 2005
    So in our local classified adds a guy has a Spyderco listed
    It was for a good price, so I arranged to meet him
    It is about a 20minute drive to meet him
    I get there and end up waiting for about 10 minutes for him

    This young gangster looking guy shows up and passes me the knife
    I tell him it is a knockoff and hand it back
    He said "do you know how much a real Spyderco is"
    I said yes
    He said "thanks for wasting my time"

    I said I am not the one calling a knockoff a Spyderco in an add

    This wasn't a knockoff it was a counterfeit as it had all the Spyderco logos and such on it
  9. Chris Wille

    Chris Wille

    Jun 3, 2012
    check these out .boxes have the hints of fake, on box alone, letters don't touch the barcode the spider triangle,http://www.ebay.com/itm/Spyderco-Pa...202?pt=Collectible_Knives&hash=item3f35824fca

    check out the email i got back after i asked real or fake
    Hi there..
    Well, I have had a few returned Because they were not 100% happy and thought they may be good replicas, But the other 90% are very happy. I bought 1000 and they are authentic. I do offer returns with no questions because of this. I also added in the ad, "High Copy" just incase, ya know? The actual knife pictured is the actually one being shipped too!
    Last edited: May 9, 2014
  10. nccole


    Jun 2, 2011
    Absolutely 100% fake. NO WAY he bought 1000 from Spyderco or any other source. Also, the description is a dead giveaway

    Camping Knife
    Brand Name:
    Spyderco, Golden Colorado
    Blade Material:
    Stainless Steel
    Model Number:
    Handle Material:
    Blad length::
    Full length::
    Blade material::
    CPM-S30V Stainless Steel
    Blade thickness::
    Net Weight::
    American parachutist knife
  11. Chris Wille

    Chris Wille

    Jun 3, 2012
    I figured they were fake.Now they guy raised prices on these fakes..Spyderco also said the claim they are OEM instead of saying fake
  12. Thomas Linton

    Thomas Linton

    Jun 16, 2003
    Say what?
  13. Chris Wille

    Chris Wille

    Jun 3, 2012
    I posted a ebay listing asking if they were real or fake..I guess i forgot to reply with quote lol...Just go up a post or 2 and you'll see I was responding to nccole
  14. Chris Wille

    Chris Wille

    Jun 3, 2012
    I was told you can tell by the box itself..The numbers under the barcode should go right up to barcode no space like the box you show..
  15. Thomas Linton

    Thomas Linton

    Jun 16, 2003
    I could not figure out what this meant: "Spyderco also said the claim they are OEM instead of saying fake [.]"
  16. Sosa


    Feb 6, 2014
    Let's see some pics of real spyderco military barcodes. I have heard the black foam liner on a real one isn't perfectly fitted to the box.
  17. 00ChevyScott


    Dec 3, 2010
    I emailed this guy, and here's his response.

    "Please don't call me names. I am not sure what your referring too but I assume since you sent me a message from the Spyderco Detail page its about the knife.
    I offer 100% refunds on these very nice high copy Spyderco knives so if you or anyone else doesnt LOVE IT, they can return for all there money back.
    Also, I only get about 1/10 knives returned..
    I do offer returns/refunds with no questions asked on all my items so all my customers can rest assure! I added the "High Copy" just incase, ya know?

    Here's my response back to him.

    "You're taking advantage of people who don't know better. You're listing the knife as a Spyderco Paramilitary 2, which it is not. It's a cheesy chinese COUNTERFEIT. You're charging just as much as many people pay for the real deal. Whether or not it's a good knife is irrelevant, you're a parasite to the knife community. Your customers deserve the knife they're trying to buy, not a knockoff you bought for $20 of aliexpress."
  18. GooberBoober


    Dec 30, 2012
    I got this fake Ladybug via a passaround-box on another forum last year:


    I liked it so much that immediately bought a real one.
  19. Chris Wille

    Chris Wille

    Jun 3, 2012
    I contacted Spyderco and they said this :: , "Thanks for posting. Those are counterfeit. We do not have ANY OEM models. The new trend seems to be calling them OEM instead of fake". OEM is original equipment manufacturer
  20. Chris Wille

    Chris Wille

    Jun 3, 2012
    Reported the guy on ebay selling the counter-fit PM2 both his listings have removed.Looks like ebay finally stepping up

Share This Page